• Home
  • Shantideva or bust! (Thursdays, online)

Shantideva or bust! (Thursdays, online)

  • Thursday, April 01, 2021
  • Thursday, August 12, 2021
  • 20 sessions
  • Thursday, April 01, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, April 08, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, April 15, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, April 22, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, April 29, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, May 06, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, May 13, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, May 20, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, May 27, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, June 03, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, June 10, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, June 17, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, June 24, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, July 01, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, July 08, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, July 15, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, July 22, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, July 29, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, August 05, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Thursday, August 12, 2021, 7:00 PM 8:00 PM (PDT)
  • Virtual Zendo online via Zoom

Registration

  • Please register so we know whom to expect.

Register


May I be a guard for those who are protectorless,
A guide for those who journey on the road.
For those who wish to cross the water,
May I be a boat, a raft, a bridge.

May I be an isle for those who yearn for land,
A lamp for those who long for light;
For all who need a resting place, a bed;
For those who need a servant, may I be their slave.

We are starting a new reading group! Please come and join us in reading Shantideva's "Way of the Bodhisattva." We'll meet on Zoom at 7:00 pm on Thursday evenings. This is a reading/dharma conversation group hosted by Sangha teacher and Tanto (head of practice) Shudo Chris Burkhart. 

Together we will dig through the writings of Shantideva  who was a sage, monk, and a bit of a trouble maker in the 8th century at Nalanda, the great Buddhist monastery. For an hour we will read and discuss whatever comes up for us. There are no reading assignments and there is no need to commit to the series, dropping in is fine. 

We will be using the translation from the Padmakara Translation Group. If you wish to go deeper, Ani Pema Chodron wrote the accessible & very worthwhile commentary "No Time to Lose." There are several other commentaries available & all input is welcome.

For questions, Zoom link or password, please contact Shudo Chris at shudochris@redcedarzen.org . There is no fee for the class; however, it helps us if you do register. So... Please register

REGISTER

We will be using 

The Way of the Bodhisattva

By Shantideva
Translated by Padmakara Translation Group
Foreword by H.H. the Fourteenth Dalai Lama

 https://www.shambhala.com/the-way-of-the-bodhisattva-1660.html


www.RedCedarZen.org     360-389-3444     registrar@redcedarzen.org
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software